August Uppercase Box

august2I love coming home to a brand new Uppercase Box! This month’s book selection is P.S. I Like You by Kasie West:

Signed, sealed, delivered… While spacing out in chemistry class, Lily scribbles some of her favorite song lyrics onto her desk. The next day, she finds that someone has continued the lyrics on the desk and added a message to her. Intrigue! Soon, Lily and her anonymous pen pal are exchanging full-on letters—sharing secrets, recommending bands, and opening up to each other. Lily realizes she’s kind of falling for this letter writer. Only, who is he? As Lily attempts to unravel the mystery and juggle school, friends, crushes, and her crazy family, she discovers that matters of the heart can’t always be spelled out…

My first reaction is that I tend to not like books featuring high school students. I used to LOVE them. When I was in middle school and high school, I ate stuff like this up with a spoon – couldn’t get enough of it. But these days, when I try to read fiction set in modern day high school, I bristle. Why are these characters so immature? I think. I can’t identify with them anymore (You know, because I’m SOOOO mature and worldly now *scoffs*). But I think I’ve been spoiled with YA sci-fi/fantasy, because I’ve had pretty good luck with the quality of writing and story. Sci-fi/fantasy has higher stakes, and is often more exciting to me. But I’ll definitely put this book on the to-read shelf for a day when I’m looking for a light, fun read.

augustAgain, the book-themed extras are excellent in this box. We have a poster with a quote from P.S. I Like You, a realllyyyyy cute notepad that is book-themed, with illustrations of cups of tea and book pages all over it, and an amazing necklace, a banner with the phrase “Once Upon a Time” across it. The necklace claims to be an Uppercase Box exclusive, although I swear it’s currently sitting in my www.modcloth.com/ wishlist…

I’ve already worn the necklace twice (I had to take it off in order to take pictures of it!), and the notepad now graces my desk along with the pencils and sticky notes from last month’s Uppercase Box. Keep up the good work, Uppercase Box gurus!

Leave a Reply

