& Fridays: On Reading a Series #4: When It’s All Over

I am getting sad just THINKING about writing this post, you guys. Because eventually, all good things must come to an end…including…beloved series.

*Goes in a corner to sob*

What do you do when a favorite series comes to an end? What happens when the somewhat-pleasant book hangover ends, and you are left with the empty knowledge that there will be no more books in that series. It’s over. Done. Sure, the author might (and probably will) write another book, maybe even another series. You might even like or love the new series, but does it ever feel the same?

I’m going to hazard a guess and say no, it doesn’t. Whatever you do, you have to come to terms with The End. In hindsight, I should have saved “The Five Stages of Sequel Grief” from last week’s series post for this post, but oh well. Them’s the breaks. Regardless, here are some tips for dealing with Post-Excellent-Series Depression:
Read something else.
Yep, it will be time to Move On. Read something you know you love, whether for you that’s the entire series of Harry Potter, Sorcerer’s Stone to Deathly Hallows, or your favorite trashy romance novel: return to something you know you love, perhaps just as equally as the series you just finished. OR read something awful. Whether for you that’s going through the kitchen oven manual page by page, or reading a Twilight or Fifty Shades of Gray installment. It’s a palate cleanser, if you will. So that the next book you attempt won’t pale so much in comparison to all the good stuff you’ve been reading.

– But stay in the book’s world a little while.
Go back and read your favorite scenes, peruse the online community of your choice for other fans to talk with, compile a list of actors and actresses who you’d be okay with playing your new favorite characters in a movie adaptation of the series. Draw, color, spray paint, write fanfiction, go online and buy oodles of action figures or other merchandise having to do with the books. Be proud of being a fan. Nerd out. You do you.

– Recommend that book until people want to punch you in the face.
Or maybe not, because punches in the face are no fun. But if you love something, set it free….into other people’s libraries. I hesitate sometimes to read something people or publications gush on and on about, for fear that I won’t love it as much (and then I almost always cave, because I’m a sucker like that). But at this point, if my best friend tells me to read something, I freakin’ read it. Because that girl has got good taste, meaning that it is very like my own (she said so humbly). And I know that if she LOVED something, I will most likely LOVE it as well. So blog about it, tweet, Facebook, and tell people in person that you just read a really good book, and it deserves to be read. In my opinion, a well-read world is a good world.

– Keep your copies
I understand if you don’t have the bookshelf space. I’m running out of it myself. But I like to keep copies of series I know I love. It’s nice seeing them there on the shelf, and if I’ve gone through a bad run of books lately, I know I have a shelf of good ones that I can always return to to remind me that the world is good again. You can keep your well-worn paperback or replace them with nice hardcover copies while you lend your paperback copy out to people.

– Pay attention to recommendations
There are plenty of websites or social media outlets that can help you find books of a similar nature to the one you just finished and loved. This can, of course, backfire, and you could hate the comparison, disagreeing entirely with whoever dared to say the two books had anything in common, but I have found some great new reads this way. Goodreads has a nice tool for this – once you add a book to a shelf, it can sort through users who have read the same thing, and find books of a similar theme. There is also literally a website called http://www.whatshouldireadnext.com/ So there’s that…

What do YOU do to get over a terrific series? What’s the last amazing set of books you read? I am always looking for recommendations! Happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

