& Fridays: To-Be-Read Pile: How Much is Too Much?

I read an awful lot. It feels strange and off-putting if I go an entire day without reading a few chapters. This means that I buy/borrow/rent books quite often. I buy/borrow/rent to the point that I finish off one book, and I have bought three or four to take its place. I’m not terrific at math, but if I read one and get three more…that’s not a good ratio for polishing off my “to-be-read” pile anytime soon…

When I got the new bookcases in my room, I designated two lower shelves on the biggest bookcase for my “to-be-read” books. I told myself that I would stick to these two shelves, and no more. If the shelves were full, I would simply read a few books before I bought new ones.

Ah, youth (this was about a year ago…)

How naïve I was…seeing as not only are those two shelves full, but now I have stacks of new books in front of the older ones, so that I can’t even see the books originally on the to-be-read shelf! It’s a sickness, I tell you. A wonderful sickness. But still, it’s getting a little out of control.

So now I’m going to actively try to clear up the shelves a little bit. I intend to read four books before I allow myself to buy a single new one.

Now, I will (rather unfairly) not count Uppercase Box or Owl Crate books. I’ll be getting both book subscription boxes for the next few months, and they give me a new hardcover release each.  I’m justifying this by saying who knows if I will have read four new books by the time I get these new ones, and I am not going out and choosing these ones – they’re coming to me!

I know, I know, it’s a lame excuse. But if I’m now limiting my book buying and borrowing to once or twice a month, I have to be a little lenient with myself…

And there are a couple of book releases I have already penciled into my planner (yep, still have a paper planner – I’m in love with it, don’t judge) that I am tempted to not include in this 1 book for 4 rule. For example, the fourth book in the Gentleman Bastards series comes out a little more than a week before the published script for Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is released. And in August, new installments for two different series I read come out: Tana French’s new Dublin Murder Squad mystery, and the sequel to An Ember in the Ashes. SO MANY BOOKS, SO LITTLE TIME!

But maybe it won’t even be an issue in August. Maybe I will speed read through so much of my to-be-read shelves that buying new ones isn’t that much of an issue.

Ah, there’s that youthful naivety again…

Anyway! Are your to-be-read piles climbing to the ceiling? Are they stacked three deep on your shelves? Are you quite buried under all of the books you fell in love with in the store/library? I ask because I genuinely want to know, but also to reassure myself that I’m not the only one 😛

Leave a Reply

