& Fridays: Owl Crate May

It is time for my second ever Owl Crate! Some wonderful friends of mine banded together and purchased a gift subscription to Owl Crate for my birthday this year!

Something I wanted to mention about Owl Crate’s marketing: they’re very smart. As soon as May began, they announced the theme for June’s box, and started telling you to order it now! I got all excited, because I thought you could just pick the boxes you wanted to and get one at a time, but it looks like they ask you to sign up for a subscription each time, and then you can cancel the subscription as soon as the payment goes through so that you do not get charged for next month. So when my gift subscription runs out, if a theme really appeals to me, I’m hoping I can re-up my subscription to get the next box, then cancel if the one after that doesn’t appeal to me, etc. or if I have to create a new account each time.

Either way, they strive to drum up excitement and enthusiasm with each box theme, and I think they do a great job with it.

Owl Crate's May box. Theme: Steampunk

Owl Crate’s May box. Theme: Steampunk

Anyway! This month’s book is Everland by Wendy Spinale. Here is the description:

Forget the story of Peter Pan you know. Because in Everland, the only way to grow up is to survive. London has been destroyed in a blitz of bombs and disease. The only ones who have survived are children, among them Gwen Darling and her siblings, Joanna and Mikey. They spend their nights scavenging and their days avoiding the ruthless Marauders — the German Army led by Captain Hanz Otto Oswald Kretschmer. Unsure if the virus has spread past England’s borders but desperate to leave, Captain Hook hunts for a cure, which he thinks can be found in one of the survivors. He and his Marauders stalk the streets snatching children for experimentation. None ever return. Until the day they grab Joanna. As Gwen sets out to save her, she meets a mysterious boy named Pete. Pete offers the assistance of his gang of Lost Boys and the fierce sharpshooter Bella, who have all been living in a city hidden underground. But in a place where help has a steep price and every promise is bound by blood, it will cost Gwen. And are she, Pete, the Lost Boys, and Bella enough to outsmart Captain Hook?

So it’s a steampunk/dystopian Peter Pan. Cool! Peter Pan seems to have seen a resurgence recently. The movie Pan, and I know of at least two songs currently playing on the radio that have to do with that fictional world (I’m thinking “Peter Pan” by Kelsea Ballerini and “Lost Boy” by Ruth B).

steampunk2Along with the book, we have a poster in the same theme, and temporary gold tattoos with designs and slogans having to do with the story. I’ve been mildly curious about this temporary tattoo trend – it’s not just for kids now! So maybe next time I go out to dinner with friends, I’ll add a fun gold accent to my outfit J

Keeping with the steampunk theme, there is a fabulous winged gear pin, an awesome skeleton key necklace (along with the name and link to etsy shop of the creator!), and a brass colored ring in the tiniest, cutest box ever.

steampunk1And I LOVE the glitter-dusted steampunk nail wraps also included in this Owl Crate. The wraps have either gears or intricate scroll work on them, and I think I’ll be using them as an accent nail on several future manicures!

All in all, a top notch box. I can just imagine steampunk fans going crazy over all the inclusions in this one.

Leave a Reply

