& Fridays: Uppercase Box April 2016

Why hello, my lovely pals!

I hope your week is treating you well! Mine certainly was once this month’s Uppercase Box landed on my doorstep. It’s such a nice treat during the week when you come home and a box full of a new book and book-themed surprises is waiting for you.

Uppercase Box April 2016!

Uppercase Box April 2016!

So here it is! This month’s book is Scarlett Epstein Hates it Here by Anna Breslaw. Description is as follows:

Meet Scarlett Epstein, BNF (Big Name Fan) in her online community of fanfiction writers, world-class nobody at Melville High. Her best (read: only) IRL friends are Avery, a painfully shy and annoyingly attractive bookworm, and Ruth, her weed-smoking, possibly insane seventy-three-year-old neighbor.

When Scarlett’s beloved TV show is canceled and her longtime crush, Gideon, is sucked out of her orbit and into the dark and distant world of Populars, Scarlett turns to the fanfic message boards for comfort. This time, though, her subjects aren’t the swoon-worthy stars of her fave series—they’re the real-life kids from her high school. And if they ever find out what Scarlett truly thinks about them, she’ll be thrust into a situation far more dramatic than anything she’s ever seen on TV…

It’s definitely a very high-school-y sounding book (which is of course the age group for YA…). I do like the sound of the fanfiction/fandom aspect, and it has received excellent reviews. I shall give it a shot (to the never ending To-Be-Read pile it goes!!)

I also received a little invitation to #IReadYA Week, along with a fun pin. Looks like I should pick up a YA book and Tweet, Instagram, and blog about it during the week of May 2nd – 6th!

Harry Potter things. Le swoon...

Harry Potter things. Le swoon…

And then of course, the way to my heart: Harry Potter stuff. The poster by an artist named @risarodil (at least on Instagram) is GORGEOUS. You know me and simple graphics! IN LOVE.

And these bookmarks!! Make me swoon, look how cute little Buckbeak and little Hagrid are! I have gone through @beedooto’s Instagram posts, and I might have to buy the trio set of bookmarks with Harry, Ron, and Hermione. How amazing!

And every girl needs an Advanced Spells book in her back pocket. You know, for quick reference for magic (or story or blog ideas!)

It is a fantastic box this month. I probably would not have picked up this book to look at in a bookstore, so it’s nice to have something come to me so highly recommended. I would not have been exposed to it otherwise. And I love seeing Buckbeak hanging out in my book every day J

Leave a Reply

