& Fridays: Owl Crate April 2016

I celebrated a birthday this March (YAY for one year older!), and a couple of my amazing friends pooled their resources and got me several months to Owl Crate, a Young Adult book subscription box! I received Uppercase Box for Christmas this last year (some of my unboxing posts here and here). And I have been loving that. And this month, my very first Owl Crate and this month’s Uppercase Box arrived within a few days of each other! What a good mail week! (although I get excited when I get a reminder for a dentist appointment in the mail, so I’m probably not a good judge of a good mail week…)

My very first Owl Crate in all of its glory!

My very first Owl Crate in all of its glory!

Both boxes are structured much the same. Owl Crate sends along a new hardcover Young Adult book release, this time with a photocopied note from the author of the book, as well as several book themed mini posters, jewelry, and other paraphernalia.

This month’s Owl Crate book is Flawed by Cecilia Ahern. Description as follows:

Celestine North lives a perfect life. She’s a model daughter and sister, she’s well-liked by her classmates and teachers, and she’s dating the impossibly charming Art Crevan. But then Celestine encounters a situation where she makes an instinctive decision. She breaks a rule and now faces life-changing repercussions. She could be imprisoned. She could be branded. She could be found flawed. In her breathtaking young adult debut, bestselling author Cecelia Ahern depicts a society where perfection is paramount and flaws lead to punishment. And where one young woman decides to take a stand that could cost her everything.

postdystopia2Very dystopian-y, young adult fantasy lite sounding. I thought the author’s name sounded familiar: turns out she wrote both P.S. I Love You and Love, Rosie, which both went on to become movies. This one is probably not one I would reach for on the shelf and then really want to take home based on the description, but that is what these boxes are for, right? Exposing readers to new stuff!

And the book goodies that came with this book just kept going! We have a temporary tattoo and poster of the book, we have a poster with a quote from another dystopian book (The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi, which also sounds reallllyyyy interesting…). We have a mini notebook of Orwell’s 1984.

postdystopia6We have a sticker from The Maze Runner series, a magnet featuring the one and only Katniss Everdeen from The Hunger Games, as well as a HG-themed bracelet from @thegeekycauldron (what a wonderful name…). And possibly my favorite thing: a coaster with a quote that’s apparently from the series Shatter Me: “I have spent my life folded between the pages of books.” The coaster is beautiful, and I almost wish it were a magnet instead – I’m not going to put my drinks on this! Maybe I’ll end up gluing a magnet to the back anyway…

So there you have it! My very first Owl Crate. Owl Crates are themed, this month’s having been “Dystopia.” Next month is “Steampunk,” so look out for my review next month!

Just look at that beautiful coaster!

Just look at that beautiful coaster!

Leave a Reply

