& Reviews: Their Fractured Light by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

Their Fractured Light by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner. Publisher: Disney-Hyperion December 2015

Their Fractured Light by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner. Publisher: Disney-Hyperion December 2015

The Book Itself: Another installment of the Starbound series another pretty, pretty dress! These covers try very hard to stand out, to wow people. They’re a little dramatic, but effective.

My Review: A year ago, Flynn Cormac and Jubilee Chase made the now infamous Avon Broadcast, calling on the galaxy to witness for their planet, and protect them from destruction. Some say Flynn’s a madman, others whisper about conspiracies. Nobody knows the truth. A year before that, Tarver Merendsen and Lilac LaRoux were rescued from a terrible shipwreck—now, they live a public life in front of the cameras, and a secret life away from the world’s gaze.

Now, in the center of the universe on the planet of Corinth, all four are about to collide with two new players, who will bring the fight against LaRoux Industries to a head. Gideon Marchant is an eighteen-year-old computer hacker—a whiz kid and an urban warrior. He’ll climb, abseil and worm his way past the best security measures to pull off onsite hacks that others don’t dare touch.

Sofia Quinn has a killer smile, and by the time you’re done noticing it, she’s got you offering up your wallet, your car, and anything else she desires. She holds LaRoux Industries responsible for the mysterious death of her father and is out for revenge at any cost.

When a LaRoux Industries security breach interrupts Gideon and Sofia’s separate attempts to infiltrate their headquarters, they’re forced to work together to escape. Each of them has their own reason for wanting to take down LaRoux Industries, and neither trusts the other. But working together might be the best chance they have to expose the secrets LRI is so desperate to hide

I read These Broken Stars and adored it. I read This Shattered World and felt let down and disappointed. I picked up Their Fractured Light, the last in this trilogy, hoping it would be more of the former.

And it was good, maybe even great, but maybe I just need to return to the whole trilogy to read it all together at a later date.

Perhaps I just have a bad memory for characters and events in stories after I read them. But it felt like I needed to read these ones back to back in order to really understand and appreciate the conclusion. At one point, all of the main characters from all of the books, including some secondary ones, were interacting and saying and doing things that I felt totally lost when reading. Who was that again? How do these two people know each other? That name is probably supposed to be significant, but I can’t remember why…it all took me out of the story a little.

But seeing as that is my fault (I hate waiting for an entire series to be out before I read it, though! THE WAIT IS TOO LONG!!!) this time we are introduced to our star-crossed lovers, Gideon and Sofia. Let me just say: FINALLY SOME NORMAL NAMES! Lilac and Jubilee as names just didn’t sit well with me. Even if Jubilee is often referred to as “Lee,” I had this fierce aversion to the name so that it didn’t help my reading experience. Gideon is a hacker, Sofia is a thief. They spend a lot of time in the book not trusting each other and worrying about not trusting one another when both are inherently untrustworthy. Those aren’t typical vocations you look for in a significant other.

But I digress. The action in this one starts off right away. We are immediately thrown into a plot-altering situation that has implications throughout the story, and we learn about our protagonists on the fly. Again, if I were reading the books back to back, this would have been more seamless. As it was, I had to reacquaint myself with the world as I read, trying to remember references to places and planets and events that happened in the previous installments. This installment focused a lot on an underground city for the less wealthy, and a city on the surface bursting with wealth and affluence. This is kind of a trope in a lot of dystopian/sci-fi, so it felt a little stale. But I did appreciate moving through the scenery, and even taking it into space.

The book’s action doesn’t stop. I don’t think I ever really lagged reading it because there was always something interesting going on. And these two authors know how to stop a chapter so you can’t help but continue to read.

But I can’t help but feel like Lilac and Tarver’s story (names aside) was always the most strong. Even in this novel, they felt like a big focus. Lilac plays a MAJOR role in the inciting incident that kept me turning pages until the end. I like their relationship, their backgrounds better than any of the couples, and a part of me wishes the series just followed them.

BUT the series was well wrapped up. This series is going down on a lot of people’s lists as a “Favorite Series of All Time,” and maybe if I read them all together I might feel more like that, too. But where I felt the first book was strong, the second one weak. This third and last installment was interesting, well-paced, and well-written, but I felt outside the story because I hadn’t heard from the characters in a while. This might be one I have to return to in a year or two.

But if you haven’t read them yet, I highly recommend reading them now. Back to back: don’t wait a year to read the next one 😉

My Grade: B

Leave a Reply

