& Fridays: I Am About to Write (Another) Book

I’m sorry, I can’t hear you from the blanket fort I have constructed, bags of chocolate and snacks within arms reach, laptop providing the light for the scene.

Okay, this isn’t actually my set up, but that sounds awesome, doesn’t it?!

You see, ladies and gentlemen, I am embarking on writing a novel this month. 50,000 words in 30 days.

AHHHHHHHHHHH! (multiplied by about a million)

If you haven’t heard of National Novel Writing Month…it’s pretty self-explanatory. You write a novel (albeit a small one) in 30 days. You can start typing away at midnight on November 1st, but you must hit 50k by November 30th.

And that’s it.

The rest is up to you.

I’ve done NaNoWriMo (abbreviated because writing out National Novel Writing Month is exhausting to type and say after a while…) the last two years. And I completed it both times! 50,000 words in 30 days. TWICE! I’m a little proud.

But it’s kind of a lot of pressure to complete it again. Third times a charm, right? (where on earth did that saying come from? Who is doing what three times and why is it charming?!)

I’m always sitting on a couple of major plot ideas, and it took me a while to settle on the subject for this year’s NaNoWriMo. Because I’m a planner. I wanted most of it planned out before I sit there on November 1st and actually have to write the words. When I first decided I wanted to do NaNo, back in 2013, I did a practice run to make sure I could do it (yeah, I’m a nerd…). And I planned EVERYTHING. I had character names and profiles and plot maps and timelines and the point I wanted to get to in the story at each part of the month.

I haven’t been quite that organized since.

But I get really freaked out if I go into NaNoWriMo blind! I’ve managed to chug through, but who knows what might happen??

No Plot? No Problem! by Chris Baty. Publisher: Chronicle Books, September 2004

No Plot? No Problem! by Chris Baty. Publisher: Chronicle Books, September 2004

I have given myself a few more resources though. Chris Baty, the founder of NaNoWriMo, wrote this great book called No Plot? No Problem! (see, even he is trying to get me to lighten up about lack of planning!). It’s chock full of great information for writing in general, but it’s tailored to the NaNoWriMo format of 30 days to a rough draft.

He’s recently re-released it with new content, which makes me feel like I need to buy the book all over again, DANGIT!!

 

 

 

 

Book in a Month by Victoria Lynn Schmidt. Publisher: Writers Digest Books, January 2008

Book in a Month by Victoria Lynn Schmidt. Publisher: Writers Digest Books, January 2008

Book in a Month (again, really self-explanatory) has also proven excellent this time around, with worksheets and exercises for every week that help you suss out your plot, key scenes, and themes you want to explore in the work.

The only problem is that right now, I haven’t fleshed out all of my key scenes OR themes.

ACK!

I’ll be obsessing over and updating about NaNoWriMo all month. And don’t worry, blog shenanigans will continue as scheduled throughout November (I have to have something else to write besides the book!)

Leave a Reply

