& Fridays: Spooky Reads

Not that you probably need any more incentive to get into the spooky Halloween spirit (I know people who are into Halloween, and they get into Halloween…), but how about some creepy, atmospheric reads for these windy, stormy nights? (Oh, that’s just where I live? Okay…)

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness. Illustrations by Jim Kay. Publisher: Walker Books May 2011

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness. Illustrations by Jim Kay. Publisher: Walker Books May 2011

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness first hearkened to me from a bookshelf because…well, because it was rather pretty. The unbelievably talented illustrator Jim Kay does so much with just black and white in this illustrated version of Ness’ story. The book feels so intricate and special because of the art.

And also, can I say that I currently possess the illustrated Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, released this month, and also illustrated by Jim Kay…and it makes me squeal with joy. It is also incredible. I might do a post just about that book, I love it that much.

The Monkey's Paw by W.W. Jacobs. Published September 1902

The Monkey’s Paw by W.W. Jacobs. Published September 1902

Or how about some classic spooky? Do you read a little Cask of Amontillado, or The Tell-Tale Heart by our morose pal, Edgar Allen Poe? Do you crack open The Monkey’s Paw by W.W. Jacobs every year on All Hallow’s Eve like other people do with The Polar Express or‘Twas the Night Before Christmas on Christmas Eve?

They had us watch a movie version of The Monkey’s Paw in high school language arts class….a little bit scarred for life now…

Story from Sarah’s Youth time….

When I was younger, I signed up for a community book club for kids where we read the nominees for the next Newberry Medal. The only two books I remember from the list and the club were Ruby Holler and Coraline.

Coraline by Neil Gaiman. Publisher: HarperCollins, 2002

Coraline by Neil Gaiman. Publisher: HarperCollins, 2002

I remembered Ruby Holler because it was my favorite. It was pleasant, intriguing, it had a cool cover (I was a sucker for them even then…)

I remembered Coraline because it was freaking creepy.

THE MOM HAS BUTTONS FOR EYES.

BUTTONS.

FOR EYES.

I was impressionable, and an even bigger scaredy cat back then because I think I was about eleven. At one point I think Coraline gets trapped in a closet with ghost children.

Nuh-uh.

Nope.

It would probably still creep me out now, but I have some distance from it.

And let me just say that the cute-looking stop motion movie made from the book? Not nearly as creepy. The book just ratchets the creepy up to about 11.

So what you read for Halloween? Do you read anything different? Any literary-themed costumes out there?

Leave a Reply

