& Fridays: The Pen is Mightier

I figured a good companion piece to notebooks would be pens!

I thought I considered myself a bit of a pen snob. And then I read an article in the July issue of mental_floss magazine about an actual, real-life pen snob. Brad Dowdy creator of blog and podcast The Pen Addictowns around 300 pens, and has written reviews on everything from pens bought at your nearby office supply store to specialty pens from Japan (FYI: his favorite “cheap pen” is a Uni-ball Jetstream). I loved reading the article, and perusing his blog. I, too, like a good pen, and I’m always buying new ones to try.

Here are some favorites:

EnerGel Liquid Gel Ink pens. I use primarily 0.7 mm

EnerGel Liquid Gel Ink pens. I use primarily 0.7 mm

I go through EnerGel Liquid Gel Ink pens like nobody’s business. I get the multi-color packs, and the 3-pack of black pens whenever I see them on sale.

The colors are super vivid, they don’t bleed into the paper behind the one you’re working on, and the line is very solid. On shiny paper, they can smear a little easier than most, and I go through the black ink ones A LOT, so maybe there is something to be said for their ink capacity, but I’m still going to buy them.

 

 

The cute and sassy seven year pens. This image found here, but the manufacturer of the pen found here.

The cute and sassy seven year pens. This image found here, but the manufacturer of the pen found here.

I found The Seven Year Pen a couple of years ago. I bought one and lost it probably 6 months into owning it, only to have my best friend replace it because she remembered which one I owned. The extra-long ink cartridge and specialty tip boasts the pen’s ability to write 1.7 meters a day for seven years.

I will say that neither of the two I own have run out or seem to be losing steam any time soon. But the line made by a Seven Year Pen is not as strong as you’d expect from a typical ballpoint pen. The stroke is a little weak, and there is no comfort grip to make holding it easier, but I’m still a fan, probably because of the attractive packaging.

Just look at those! They come in tons of fun designs, and I’ve given a couple to friends who I thought of after looking at a particular design (I gave the dachshund one to a friend who owns two real-life wiener dogs, and the flamingo design to a pal who loves the pink birds).

What about you, my fellow pen-lovers? Are you a fountain pen person? Are you big into calligraphy (I’m trying to do this, too! It’s tons harder than it looks!)? Let me know, and happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

