& Fridays: Quotables

Happy Friday, everyone!

ACK! I’m behind on posts! I’ll have to do some real sitting down this week and set up posts for the next couple of weeks. Bear with me while I procrastinate a little while longer 😉

I have a quote journal. A quote journal meant only for phrases from books I’m reading or have read.

I think it all stemmed from a quote, actually, that I came across who knows where. It reads:

“Make your own Bible. Select and collect all the words and sentences that in all your readings have been to you like the blast of a trumpet.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

So I went, “Yes, I will do that.”

My quote "bible"!

My quote “bible”!

So I keep this notebook on my bedside table. And when I’m reading before bed, and I come across a particularly well-put thought, or a beautiful description, I put it in here. It’s nowhere near full, and I love that 🙂

I got the notebook itself in Croatia, and the quote says, “Liberty is not to be sold for all the treasures of the world.” It has to do with the deep sense of liberty the people of Dubrovnik have and their deep roots to the city, having had a history rooted in conflict against many European powers. It’s a great size, and I like the powerful thoughts behind it.

 

So how about you? Do you keep track of the quotes and thoughts of your favorite books? Or even every book you read (there are quotes in mine from books that I didn’t necessarily love, but I did love certain little moments)? What does your journal look like?

Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

