& Fridays: Book Fashion

Here’s a queston for you: would you wear what you read?

I’m an absurd book lover. I actively Google search book-related items of clothing and jewelry. I own a few. There might be a cat and book related clothing item featured in this post that I do possess…

Would you/do you own any book related clothing? How about art in your home? Let me know!

An ampersand scarf! From this lovely etsy seller.

An ampersand scarf! From this lovely etsy seller.

I love me some scarves. Have I mentioned this? It bears mentioning again:

I love scarves.

I love them. I own approximately 20 too many of them.

Okay, way more than 20+. I don’t even want to count how many I own, that’s how bad the problem is.

“Book-related scarves” is an open ended description. And there are tons of crazy people out there who have put entire novels in small print on scarves, famous illustrations of classic works, even single quotes from literature both contemporary and classic.

A scarf featuring Mr. Darcy's proposal speech from Pride and Prejudice from this lovely etsy seller. How awesome would this be in an ACTUAL PROPOSAL?! Le swoon...

A scarf featuring Mr. Darcy’s proposal speech from Pride and Prejudice from this lovely etsy seller. How awesome would this be in an ACTUAL PROPOSAL?! Le swoon…

One of the coolest gifts I’ve ever received has to do with Reddit.

I participate in Reddit’s Secret Santa gift exchange every year. You sign up, agreeing to send a gift to another online user, posting your likes and dislikes as well. A different user will send you a gift tailored to your interests. My very first year participating in this, my Secret Santa sent me several beautiful gifts, one being a white scarf, hand-lettered with quotes from three of my favorite books (namely White Oleander by Janet Fitch, I Am the Messenger by Markus Zusak, and The Cider House Rules by John Irving).

It’s beautiful, and so meaningful.

And it has to do with books! And scarves!

It’s like they knew me!!

Modcloth's "Fun for the Books" skirt. Found here.

Modcloth’s “Fun for the Books” skirt. Found here.

There is a skirt that exists. It exists and it has both books and cats on it.

I mean, how perfect?! And can I also just briefly mention that IT HAS POCKETS.

Come on, a literary and furry themed article of clothing, comfy AND with pockets for snacks?

It’s just the best.

I think there’s still a lot of ground to cover in Book Fashion, so Part 2 will be coming up next week!

Drop a line in the comments about any book-related things you wear on your body!

Leave a Reply

