& Fridays: Coffee Table Book….Corner?

I feel like I’ve posted a few times about the coffee table books I’ve either
A.) Bought for friends based on their interests
B.) Seen in the store and thought they looked awesome
C.) Purchased myself, even though I could buy five coffee tables and STILL not have enough room for all the coffee table books I possess.

I’ve done this so many times, I feel like I should make it a thing. But there are no days of the week that deal with the letter “C”! So what should I call it? Coffee Table Book…Corner? Klatch? Ampersand Coffee Table? Let me know your thoughts!

Oooh, I also have a thing about coffee tables in general. So I’m thinking maybe I’ll post a photo of gorgeous coffee tables that, if I had the zillions of dollars to buy them (and to build the rooms to put them in) I would.

Pen & Ink: Tattoos and the Stories Behind Them by Isaac Fitzgerald, Wendy MacNaughton, Introduction by Cheryl Strayed. Publisher: Bloomsbury USA

Pen & Ink: Tattoos and the Stories Behind Them by Isaac Fitzgerald, Wendy MacNaughton, Introduction by Cheryl Strayed. Publisher: Bloomsbury USA

SO. Here’s the first installment of Coffee Table Book [insert adjective/theme here]!

This book is, of all places, in our “Current Affairs” section. And it’s amazingly, gorgeously composed. It comes from a Tumblr site (a lot of good coffee table books come from Tumblr sites!), and it’s not just photographs of people’s tattoos, and their quotes and quips about when/why/where/with whom they got them.

The body parts and tattoos are hand drawn, the stories are extensive and wonderful and hand-lettered. The reasons for tattoos are, of course, as varied as the people who get inked. And they are equal parts heartbreaking, funny, dumb, and quirky.

It’s just…an awesome collection of art and stories. I myself am tattooed twice over (meaning that I have two tattoos on my body, not that my entire body is covered in tattoos, then covered again), and compared to the stories laid out here, mine feel so…shrimpy!

Timber Trestle Door Coffee Table from Restoration Hardware. Drool over it here.

Timber Trestle Door Coffee Table from Restoration Hardware. Drool over it here.

What coffee table deserves to have this beauty grace it’s tabletop? I love me some Restoration Hardware. Ever been in one of their stores? It is like walking through the lush, glossy pages of a catalogue. You’ll probably see a lot of Restoration Hardware tables here. I’m obsessed.

This one is an awesome light wood trestle table. It’s sturdy, big, the kind of thing that seems like a permanent part of a room. But “so what?” You might think. “It’s a wood coffee table.” But get this: press hard on what you write on a wood table, and your mark gets left behind. It can bear the marks of your life and STILL look fantastic. Sort of kind of like a certain kind of body art…

Hope you liked my little coffee table corner here! Let me know if you like it!

Leave a Reply

