& Fridays: Challenge Accepted?

I know it’s the beginning of the fifth month in the year (holy crap, the year’s almost half over…) but it’s never too late to start a reading challenge! I have thought about doing this, especially in the last couple of years. I mentioned in my New Years Resolutions/Guidelines post that my coworker read 60 books in 2014, one from every section in the bookstore we work at. This year, her goal is to read 100 “strips,” which are usually the mass market paperbacks that publishers don’t require us to send back to them, but that we have to rip the cover off the front and dispose of.

readingchallenge

Several friends have sent me this image on Pinterest (I know it’s too small to see, but if I make it full size, the thing is huge). It’s a reading challenge issued by Pop Sugar, and features such assignments as “A book that became a movie,” and “A book with a color in the title,” and “A book with nonhuman characters.”

 

I’m a commitment-phobe when it comes to reading challenges. If I miss the goal, if I’m off by a book or two, will it ruin the whole year for me? (Dramatic, I know, but maybe I’m feeling needy that day…) What if I just really, really don’t want to do one of the assignments?

 

Especially the one on this list: “A book you were supposed to read in school but didn’t.” I’ve said before that I’m a bad classics reader. So there are hundreds of books that I “should” have read, especially as a person with a degree in English Literature. Thousands. There are probably thousands of them.

 

Same thing with “A book on the bottom of your to-read list.” Everything on my TBR shelves are things I intend to read, but you know…there are a couple of them that I’ve never been in the mood for. Some have stayed on that shelf for years! Mostly classics…

 

And you? Have you ever issued yourself a Reading Challenge? Have you ever completed one? What are some that you’ve heard of and always wanted to try? I’m always open to suggestions!

 

Happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

