& Fridays: Trying to Read with Cats

Every have someone in your life who was really needy? A friend? An old boyfriend or girlfriend who called you all the time, asked you how your day was (even if they’d spent the entire day with you), showed up again and again asking for attention?

Yeah, that’s what living with three cats is like.

"I'm sorry, you cannot read this book right now. I am hungry, and you need to feed me first." Amber, my old girl. Started life as a barn cat.

“I’m sorry, you cannot read this book right now. I am hungry, and you need to feed me first.”
Amber, my old girl. Started life as a barn cat.

Growing up, my family always had cats. Both of my parents had dogs growing up, but we had too small of a yard to feasibly entertain a dog, large or small.

So it was cats. I rode horses as a kid, and a couple of the barn cats had kittens. Amber was one of them. She’s a weirdo, and somehow only meows with volume at 6 AM, when she wants breakfast. She is fourteen years old, waddles when she walks, but still huffs it up the stairs every night to drink from the water dish in my bathroom.

 

"You wanted to open this box? Yeah, that's not going to happen." Roscoe, our "mountain lion"

“You wanted to open this box? Yeah, that’s not going to happen.” Roscoe, our “mountain lion”

When we moved into the house we live in now, Roscoe wandered onto our property as skin and bones. We took pity on the friendly guy (and didn’t want him to get eaten by coyotes), and made him part of the household. He’s an awesome mouser, has captured the occasional mole, and is the size of a small dog.

No joke. He’s huge. At his last check up, the vet took one look at him and said: “That is the healthiest looking fourteen pound cat I’ve ever seen.”

I think he’s to blame for the book-sitting. Any papers you have out? He sits on them. And he makes sure to cover ALLLLL the things in front of you. Because, you know, then you have to pay attention to him.

I wish I could say we don’t positively reinforce that bad behavior by petting him. But…let’s be honest. Look at that face…

"I'm learning fast. And you will NOT be reading tonight." Cheshire, the baby of the family.

“I’m learning fast. And you will NOT be reading tonight.” Cheshire, the baby of the family.

And finally, the newest addition: Cheshire, aka Chess, aka Chessie. She’s a little less than a year old, and torments Roscoe like no other. She’s deceptively fast, and hates it when people prepare stuff in the kitchen because she can’t see what they’re doing (she meows at my feet until I acknowledge her tiny presence).

She doesn’t meow. She squeaks.

And she’s learning the book-sitting technique.

Now that I’ve proved that I’m a crazy cat person, how about you? Do your pets interrupt your reading habits? A squawking bird? A needy puppy? Cats that sit on books?

3 thoughts on “& Fridays: Trying to Read with Cats

  1. What a lovely bunch you have! I think they’d give me and my siblings a run for our money! Amber needs to meet my sister Ethel. On the other hand… maybe not.

  2. What cutie pies!! I can completely relate; my three are: Esmé (black & white moggie), Maebe (black half-siamese, tiny murderer) and Gaius (big tabby). Every single time I sit down to read one of them turns up on my book. It’s great 🙂 (if a little intrusive!).

Leave a Reply

