& Fridays: Temptation Bookstore

As an avid bookworm, I should have known it would be dangerous for me to work in a bookstore. When I ring people up, I find books I want to read. When I’m setting out books on Monday nights for their Tuesday morning releases, I find books I want to read. And finally, when I tidy up a section of the store, I find books I want to read.

That last one happened most recently. In moving the art sections over to make room for another music bay, I came across a book of photos that I remembered finding on Pinterest a while back.

Follow Me To by Murad Osmann and Nataly Zakharova. Photography. Publisher: Skyhorse Publishing

Follow Me To by Murad Osmann and Nataly Zakharova. Photography. Publisher: Skyhorse Publishing

Follow Me To depicts a couple of travelers as they explore the world. The girl leads the guy by the hand, and gorgeous cityscapes and landscapes sprawl out before them. The pictures are fantastic. It made this bookworm want to go to all of the places that they did, from Disneyland (let’s face it, I always want to go to Disneyland…), to Dubai to Hong Kong.

My personal favorite, though, is photograph of the guy proposing atop a roof in Russia. If that was truly the moment he proposed, that’s a pretty nifty souvenir for the two of them to have!

 

The Rabbit Back Literature Society by  Pasi Ilmari Jääskeläinen. Fiction. Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books.

The Rabbit Back Literature Society by Pasi Ilmari Jääskeläinen. Fiction. Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books.

 

 

I found this gem in a list of “Must Reads” on my eReader. What does it involve? Secret writing societies, a “disease” that starts rearranging the words in classic literature, mysterious abound…just the description had me hooked!

 

 

 

 

Find Me by Laura Van Den Berg. Fiction. Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux.

Find Me by Laura Van Den Berg. Fiction. Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux.

 

My best friend texted me with an image of this cover saying “THIS SOUNDS LIKE SOMETHING YOU’D READ!” It is, of course, a dystopia. But it’s got a little bit of that Walking Dead eerie sanctuary deal going on. Our protagonist lives in a hospital because she is somehow immune from the epidemic killing off thousands of people (and, you know, doctors can examine her and the others to see if they can develop a cure). But things get a little controlling at said hospital, and our protagonist eventually sets off in search of her birth mother across an apocalyptic America.

 

 

So those have been my recent, spontaneous book purchases! Look for some of these reviews coming down the pipeline! And have a marvelous Friday!!

Leave a Reply

