Food for Thought Fridays

Photo Credit: My Instagram

Photo Credit: My Instagram

I love clever book dedications! I found both of these while perusing books at the Powell’s Used Bookstore stationed in the Portland International Airport (the best store there, and it’s unfortunately closing! Nooooooo!!). The top one is from Zeus Grants Stupid Wishes by Cory O’Brien, and the bottom one from Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson. Both humorous books, but you don’t have to be writing a funny book to have a funny dedication. Check out this Buzzfeed article for other great/deep and meaningful dedications.

If you wrote a book, humorous or otherwise, who/what would you dedicate it to? I’d like to be witty, but I’d of course have to shout out to Miss Moyle, the student teacher in my sixth grade classroom who read a story I was writing over my shoulder and passed me a note that read Have you ever thought about getting published? Planting the seeds early!

On another note: Acknowledgements. I rarely read them, because, heck, I don’t know anyone the author is talking about! But Lexicon by Max Barry has a really witty Acknowledgements section. That, you know, acknowledges how weird acknowledgments are. How weird a word is acknowledgment?!

Mentioned here:

zeusgrantsstupidwishesletspretendthisneverhappened

Lexicon by Max Barry. Sci-fi/Fantasy. Publisher: Penguin Books.

Zeus Grants Stupid Wishes: A No-Bullshit Guide to World Mythology by  Cory O’Brien, Sarah Melville (Illustrations)

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir by Jenny Lawson

Lexicon by Max Barry. My review here.

 

Leave a Reply

