& Post-Vacation Reading

I’M BAAAAACK!

Hello! You know, I truly did miss this place. I even went so far as to write two whole reviews on the books I read over vacation on vacation (!!). That’s dedication, my friends. I didn’t get to all the books on my reading list (and it will be months until I get through House of Leaves. That thing is DENSE), and I substituted one or two, but reviews are forthcoming….soon….ish. Definitely by next Monday.

Seeing as I’ve been back for an entire week, seven whole days, and my suitcase is still unpacked in the middle of my bedroom….it’s safe to say I’m a little behind on things.

Plus I’ve rediscovered The Sims. All extra time = WASTED. But I’ve built a lot of mansions.

So! Reviews on some vacation reading forthcoming, but there are a few books that I thought I’d share about wanting to read RIGHT NOW, just ALL AT ONCE, to see how great/terrible they are due to their hype.

California by Edan Lepucki

California by Edan Lepucki

California by Edan Lepucki has been plastered all over my Facebook newsfeed because a local bookstore had a big hand in the preorder/presale of the book, and it was mentioned on The Colbert Report as part of the whole Amazon debacle/discussion. And it sounds really awesome. It’s dystopian, it’s adventure, it’s a completely normal person thrust into an impossible situation. Los Angeles is no more, and a couple are trying to survive in a shack in the wilderness, attempting to live a life that’s even a fraction as comfortable as their old situation. I’ve read the first few pages in an ebook sample, and Frida suspects she’s pregnant in the first couple of pages. Uh-oh! Sounds very Walking Dead if you ask me (love that show…).

 

The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

You want your breakout novel to be a success? Get Emma Watson to play your main character in the movie of it.

You want your breakout novel to be a success? Get Emma Watson to play your main character in the movie of it.

The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen has an ENORMOUS amount of buzz surrounding it. You can hardly see the book for the fog of buzz around this thing. That’s mostly because (well, at least I’ve heard of it because) it’s already being made into a movie. And a little known actress named Emma Watson is playing the protagonist. No big deal. A nineteen year old girl, in hiding all her life, is pulled from her foster parents to travel to her kingdom and rule as queen. But, of course, many people want to kill her, including her uncle. Her mother, the previous queen, isn’t as virtuous as she’s built her up in her head to be. Plus, you know, a magical witch lady is in shaky alliance with the kingdom. For some reason, I kept thinking it was a YA title. The synopsis maybe? The cover? But nope, it’s in the adult sci-fi/fantasy section.

thesilenthistory

The Silent History has not one, not two, but three authors: Eli Horowitz, Matthew Derby, and Kevin Moffett. This would be weird, and I would be concerned, but the concept of this novel is very World War Z: case studies and interviews of an epidemic sweeping the country. This means the different voices and styles between authors might help rather than hinder a cohesive story: every case study/interviewee gets their own voice. Instead of a scourge of the undead, a generation of children are born without speech. It gets concerning, then alarming, then cause for ostracism, violence, even deification. Very intriguing. I want to see where the authors take it.

 

Whew! So while I agonize over what to read next, and try desperately to stop playing The Sims, here are a few pictures from my wonderful vacation (you know, as a justification of my absence…)

Lampposts along the boardwalk in Halifaz, Nova Scotia

Lampposts along the boardwalk in Halifax, Nova Scotia

Faneuil Hall, Boston, Massachusetts

Faneuil Hall, Boston, Massachusetts

Harbor in Baddeck, Nova Scotia

Harbor in Baddeck, Nova Scotia

The gorgeous views from a vantage point in Acadia National Park (Bar Harbor, Maine)

The gorgeous views from a vantage point in Acadia National Park (Bar Harbor, Maine)

One of my favorite things about the trip was the incredible architecture everywhere! Houses, business, government buildings, etc.

One of my favorite things about the trip was the incredible architecture everywhere! Houses, business, government buildings, etc.

Leave a Reply

